top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Thoughts on Friendship

Do any of you follow @bymariandrew on Instagram? She is by far one of my favorite illustrators/writers/content creators, and I discovered her through one of my most favorite friends. As a gift, this friend gave me Mari's book, "Am I There Yet?", an honest look into what it's like to figure out "adulting" and life in general.

When the accompanying journal came out (a delightful notebook in which to write and doodle, with creative prompts and outlines), I was very excited. However, if you know me, you know that I am great at starting things, and really bad at finishing them. The journal currently sits about 1/4 full, on my bookshelf.



Something in me thought that today would be a good day to pull that journal out and flip through it. I've had it for over a year, and the past year has been filled with SO much change--it was fun flipping through the things I had written, drawn, and contemplated.

I found a few fun entries on friendship--a topic that has been on my mind quite constantly lately. Maybe it's from sheltering-in-place, maybe it's from life changes, maybe it's just part of adjusting to adult relationships...but I wanted to share a couple fun lists, descriptions, and stories with you all! I hope they make you smile, warm your heart, and make you send your bff a sweet little text. Share your friendship stories and thoughts in the comments!





Friendship -- A Pie Chart (humor me & just picture it, ok?)

- easy conversation ("omg, me too!")

-girls trips (hey Nashville)

-watching a TV series together (entire first season of Stranger Things in one day, anyone?)

-comfortable silence (it's an introvert thing)

-coffee dates in trendy places (and the multiple IG pics to go with it)

-big dreamers <3

-IG story reactions ("heart eyes")

-ALWAYS BEING THERE (wrote this in all caps for some reason?)

-matching outfits (.....cringe.....but also CUTE)

-manicures (the classic girlfriend date)





A Verbal Illustration of My Friend, Lea

What are their hobbies? Strengths? Qualities? Style? Quirks?

--long bob-cut blonde hair

--brain filled with probably 1,000 different thoughts at once

--the MOST creative thinker!

--fantastic choice in clothes (comfort + fashion? A++)

--toughened exterior but the sweetest heart

--loud voice that is great for laughing, singing, and saying nice things about other people

--deep thinker

--external processor

--varsity swimmer

--confident city-dweller

--mom to two pet rats and one dog

--sparkly eyes + happiest smile


Here's the link to purchase Mari's book, if you're interested! https://www.amazon.com/There-Yet-Loop-loop-bymariandrew/dp/1524761435



Wishing you all the loveliest, happiest day

xx


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page