top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Quarantine Kitchen | Oven-baked Chicken, Seasoned Fries

Welcome to episode two of our Quarantine Kitchen series, where I share what I've been cooking up with what is available. We were lucky enough to already have chicken in the freezer before this all started, and I was ready to experiment with something a little more involved than just cooking it on the stovetop with some olive oil and pepper. I am a vegetarian, so cooking meat is newer to me--and I'm determined to still impress my carnivorous husband and friends, regardless of my novice-level skills!


Growing up, I remember hating dry, tough chicken...so I specifically looked for an oven-baked chicken recipe that promised juicy and tender results. I firmly believe that Crock Pots are the best for falling-off-the-bone chicken, but with mine currently out of commission, I decided to give this recipe by Cafe Delites a go. The seasoning/rub is very unique, and smells wonderful while baking. It took less than 30 minutes for my chicken to go from refrigerator to oven to table!


While the chicken was baking, I sliced up some Yukon Gold potatoes, tossed them in olive oil, sprinkled them with seasoned salt, and roasted them at 400 degrees for about 20-25 minutes--PERFECTION.


Serve with side salads, and you have a delicious, easy meal! Here is the recipe if you would like to try this for yourself: www.cafedelites.com/oven-baked-chicken-breast/


We finished off this A+ meal with some cake (yes, I used cake mix and store bought frosting...desperate times...right?)--a chocolate frosted one for my husband, and a plain one with glaze (powdered sugar + water) and strawberries for me. These cakes are going to have to go in the freezer or to our neighbors, or we're going to roll out of quarantine hardly able to walk anymore! I'm looking forward to having time to bake (if supply of ingredients allows it!) some more, so I'll need to make room in the kitchen for some upcoming treats! Muffins and cookies are on their way...stay tuned!







7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page